ARTISTS,  EXPERIENCE,  History of Tango,  NEWS,  Orchestras

Juan D´Arienzo´s Typical Orchestra

Part 2.

Period between 1934/1939. In 1935 the orchestra was composed by: Lidio Fasoli, later by Rodolfo Biagi (piano); Rodolfo Duclos (bass); Domingo Moro, Juan José Visciglio, Faustino Taboada and Aroldo Ferrero, José Della Rocca (bandoneons) and Alfredo Mazzeo, Domingo Mancuso and León Zibaico (violins). In this period this musicians also took part: Haroldo Ferrero and José Della Rocca (bandoneons), Francisco Mancini (violins) and Pedro Caracciolo (bass). In 1938 Juan Polito replaced Rodolfo Biagi. Singers: Walter Cabral, Enrique Carbel and Alberto Echagüe.

In 1936, the orchestra performs at Radio “El Mundo” integrated by the following musicians: piano: Rodolfo Biagi and (as a substitute) César Zagnoli; bass: Rodolfo Duclos; bandoneons: Domingo Moro, Juan Jose Visciglio, Faustino Taboada, Aroldo Ferrero, José Della Rocca and violins: Alfredo Mazzeo, Domingo Mancuso, Leon Zibaico, Francisco Mancini.

Period between 1940/1949. Fulvio Salamanca (piano), Héctor Varela (bandoneon) and Cayetano Puglisi (violin) are incorporated. During this period, the following musicians participated: Alberto San Miguel, Jorge Ceriotti, Eladio Blanco, Ángel Ramos and José Antonio Di Pilato (bandoneons); Olindo Sinibaldi (bass); Rodolfo Velo and Juancito Diaz (piano substitutes for Salamanca) and Blas Pensato, Jaime Ferrer, Clemente Arnaiz (violins). Singers: Alberto Reynal, Carlos Casares, Héctor Mauré, Juan Carlos Lamas (1940-1943) and Alberto Echagüe and Armando Laborde (1944-1949).

In 1950. The basic formation was composed by: Enrique Alessio, Alberto San Miguel, Carlos Lazzari, Eladio Blanco and Felipe Ricciardi (bandoneons); Cayetano Puglisi, Blas Pensato, Jaime Ferrer and Clemente Arnaiz (violins); Fulvio Salamanca (piano); Victorio Virgillito (bass). Singers Roberto Lemos and Alberto Echagüe. Later: Armando Laborde, Mario Bustos, Jorge Valdez and Horacio Palma.

In 1957, Fulvio Salamanca leaves the orchestra, ientering once more Juan Polito (piano) and musical arrangements by Carlos Lazzari. The formation is complete with: Victorio Virgillito (bass); Enrique Alessio, Carlos Lazzari, Eladio Blanco, Aldo Junnissi and Felipe Ricciardi (bandoneons); Cayetano Puglisi, Blas Pensato, Jaime Ferrer and Clemente Arnaiz (violins).

Some changes made since 1957. In 1959 Ernesto Franco replaces Eladio Blanco on the bandoneon. 1961: Clemente Arnaiz and Enrique Alessio are replaced by Pablo Hechin and Celso Amato. 1963: Raul Dominguez replaces Pablo Hechin on the violin. 1968: Bernardo Weber replaces Cayetano Puglisi on the violin.

Towards the end, this orchestra was formed by: Ernesto Franco, Luis Maggiolo, Carlos Lazzari, Felipe Ricciardi and Carlos Niesi (bandoneons), Bernardo Weber, Mauricio Mise, Milo Dojman, Domingo Mancuso and Blas Pensato -some reinforcement for recording: Aquiles Roggero, Osvaldo Rodríguez, Fernando Suárez Paz and Eduardo Fernández- (violins), Juan Polito (piano), Enrique Guerra (bass).

In 1972, D’Arienzo gave his blessing for the “Los Solistas” (the soloists) to be born, among them: Carlos Lazzari, Milo Dojman, Normando Lazara, Enrique Guerra, Alberto Echagüe and Osvaldo Ramos. The brand was “D’Arienzo”.

Once the director died, in 1978, Los Grandes del Compás are born and shortly after that, Los Reyes del Compás, all faithful to his master´s style.

Down below we provide you with a list of singers that were part of the orchestra and the corresponding time periods:

  • Walter Cabral (1936)
  • Enrique Carbel (1937)
  • Alberto Echagüe (1938-1940), (1944-1957) y (1968-1975)
  • Alberto Reynal (1940-1942)
  • Carlos Casares (1940)
  • Héctor Mauré (1940-1944)
  • Juan Carlos Lamas (1942-1944)
  • Armando Laborde (1944-1950), (1952-1957) y (1964-1975)
  • Roberto Lemos (1950-1952)
  • Mario Bustos (1957-1960)
  • Jorge Valdez (1957-1965)
  • Horacio Palma (1960-1964)
  • Héctor Millán (1962-1964)
  • Osvaldo Ramos (1965-1975)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

es_ES en_US